Tags

, , , , ,

51BWFjbmSeL._UY250_

A Tale of Three Bridges
(Lisbon, Rome, Istanbul)
Lagarto Studio, 2015
Carlos Carvalho

“This book is a work of fact, fiction and fancy.” So says the opening page of A Tale of Three Bridges by Carlos Carvalho. And I can see it all in my mind’s eye. The question, however, is: “Will I be able to explain it to you?” Yes, I have read the book, and I loved it. Rarely have I been moved as this book moved me. I was reminded of the great romances of my life and of the great losses, and I identified with the main character tremendously.

Carlos is an artist who lives in Cape Town, South Africa, and much like (I’m assuming this) his artist creator, Carlos travels a great deal to find inspiration for his work. In these travels both have discovered three great bridges in three great cities. Apparently these bridges form a straight line between all. Even the cities are similar, in that they are each built upon seven hills. But enough about them (you will learn much about these bridges and these cities in the story). What is most important is that each bridge plays a part in the great loves of Carlos’ life. These are loves Carlos feels with an amazing depth of emotion, yet he can’t hold on to them. In fact the greatest love of them all lasted only three days before she left him, moved to another continent and married another man. We could be reading a Harlequin romance here–except that everything is so real it is impossible to tell where the fact, the fiction and the fancy leave off. Even the places and scenes set in each of the three great cities feel real.

I’ve read many Harlequin romances. Never have they given me the experience of love that Carlos Carvalho brings to the page. I’ve read many erotic romances. Never have they left me with such a sense of unbridled passion. I’ve read many great novels, classic and otherwise. So I can say this: Here is a love story for men and women. And I pronounce it good!

5 stars

Copyright © 2015 Clayton Clifford Bye

